Living Small

10 Jul

I came upon a blog called The Tiny Life that’s about building  small, sustainable, and affordable homes and living simply. Building or owning a home has always seemed kind of out of my league (I’m a gypsy child for starters) but this has got me thinking that maybe we could start small and do something really awesome but still not incredibly expensive. I would love to buy some kind of waterfront property and start with a little home that we could continue adding onto if we so desired.  Seeing this website and the following videos, I’m starting to think that it might possible to do it in the relatively near future.

My favorite article (see photo above) is called Tiny Cottage, and features a *gorgeous* little cottage built by Creative Cottages in Maine. I don’t know how much this exact place cost, but it’s awesome. Another blog called Cozy Little House has a great article on why the small house movement works. Look at these photos!!! Why don’t we all have one?!  Love them.

So, to get an idea of the spectrum of home building, here’s a few different video examples and price points (not including the land) of micro living environs:

Less than $3,500

Around $17,000

Around $20,000

And… the awesomeness of Japanese design. Heck, just google micro houses and see what happens!

At the end of the day, I think I’d have to go for about a thousand square feet, mapped out efficiently and with sufficient plumbing and electricity… but looking at all of these options I think it might be possible to do for the price of a middle finger! I think I’ll start looking for waterfront property immediately! ha.

3 Responses to “Living Small”

  1. emilyjeane July 11, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    LOVE this! Dad and I have been looking at these tiny homes for a while now and I totally want one! By the beach. With a porch.

  2. Hannah July 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    You just need to make sure you have enough room to work on creative ventures. (large desk/open floor space). And husbands need their mancave to play video games and watch 24/7 sports in peace.

Leave a Reply

