*Ombre update

26 Jul

Yeah… So ombre attempt 2.0 didn’t really work all that well.

I bleached out the dark reddish brown, and then darkened and toned with le dishwater blonde– so far so good. But then when I got to the dark roots – FAIL.

I’m aiming for a cooler/ashier version than the Alexa Chung photo. I was thinking two shades darker (and then highlights) would be dark enough but that’s definitely not as drastic as it needs to be. All of this took a few days because I didn’t want to completely fry my hair, but I can’t really continue to the highlights portion until I get the dark roots right. So for now I’m taking a little break in order to ensure that I look human for our trip to Alabama this weekend, and then I’ll get back to it!

By the way, guess which of my favorite female directors is rocking her own ombre bob? Oh yeah. Sophia Coppola, you rock!

4 Responses to “*Ombre update”

  1. hannah July 26, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I stopped dying my hair except for a root matching touch-up here and there when I started growing it out. Now I have a natural ombre effect with my ends being almost red then fading back to dark brown. Of course it took YEARS for it to do it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. emilyjeane July 27, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    haha mine is “ombre,” but only cause my roots are growing in big time. Perhaps the roots is something you should go to the salon for? I like the color you have for the ends, it’s pretty in the picture.

    or how about you let your roots grow in light and then you’ll have reverse ombre?? brilliant!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Won’t you be my ombre. « Design Sensibility - August 8, 2011

    […] something, quick! Why is The Ombre so alluring? It could be the degree of near-impossibility. {See hair} Or perhaps the feeling that you’re getting more than you paid for, a way of ย having every […]

Leave a Reply

