Test Kitchen | Berry Cream Tart… {plus a bonus cobbler recipe}

11 Aug

For today’s test kitchen experiment I had in my possession fresh fruit, puff pastry dough, and a hankering for something light and fruity. The all-knowing Google pointed me to Coastal Living‘s Berry Cream Tart recipe. Because I don’t really like to follow rules all that much I used puff pastry instead of pie crust, lime juice instead of lemon juice, and peaches, cherries, grapes and gooseberries instead of what you see above. I reallyreallyreally like berries but it’s peach season, y’all! I’m cobbler’d out {see addendum below} but I didn’t really want to get into all the fuss and muss of baking a pie. Steps 1-3: Take pastry out of freezer, thaw, and bake on 400 degrees F for 15 minutes. It’ll be puffy. Steps 4-6: Prepare cream cheese/sour cream/heavy cream filling and cut fruit while pastry bakes. Once pastry has cooled and de-puffed (you may need to help it along with some pricking), slather it with the cream cheese deliciousness.  Steps 7-9: Decorate it with zeal. When artistically fulfilled, refrigerate for at least 20 minutes to allow gooey stuff to set up. Then eat, making loud smacking sounds with your gums.

Voila! You have exerted relatively minimal effort and yet have a complicated-looking dessert your friends will hate you for bringing to the barbecue because they know everybody’s gonna be like “ooooooh, who made this?!” and nobody need ever know how consarned easy it was. {Except for Bumba-cat here, clearly judging me.} Win-win! 

And in closing, an aside about cobbler: I made a peach cobbler this week with brown sugar instead of white and it was easily the best cobbler I’ve ever buried my entire face in, and peaches alone are my least favorite cobbler filling. If you want to try my recipe, it’s super extra easy: Melt 1 stick of butter in your baking dish. Add 1 cup of flower, 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of milk, and 2 tsp of baking powder to help the dough rise. Mix it well then add fruit (1 can, drained or 2-3 med/lge pieces). Bake in 350F oven for 45-ish minutes. Take it out AND LET IT SIT FOR 10-15 MINUTES. Try not to eat it all in one setting.

One Response to “Test Kitchen | Berry Cream Tart… {plus a bonus cobbler recipe}”

  1. emilyjeane August 12, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    What? Two recipes in one post? Me thinks me needs to make a cobbler/puff pastry…

Leave a Reply

