Give it a toss: Throw pillows for $50 or less

12 Aug

I was lamenting the difficulty of finding a good throw pillow yesterday and my friend’s response was “Ya gotta spend the money.” To be honest, anything upwards of 20 bucks makes me cringe, and I cannot imagine dropping a Franklin on a small decorative cushion. As a compromise: A guide to throw pillow covers (mostly), at $50 or less.  The Diana embroided palampore pillow cover $39 at Pottery Barn  The Thea block print kalamkari cover, $29 also from The Pottery Barn  Ikat Insignia Pillow, $29.95 on sale at Anthropologie. That’s a great deal – stuffing included! ha.  Vintage hot air balloon cover, $35 by JolieMarche on Etsy  Burlap throw pillow with handkerchief washboard, $35 at KelseyFischer on Etsy Burlap on Suzani Throw Pillow, $35 at YiaYias on Etsy  Eye Chart Throw Pillow Cover, $30 at KindredSpiritHome on Etsy The Fan crocheted throw pillow cover, $48 at TheCreativeGene on Etsy  Moustache Throw Pillow, $30 at Looploft on Etsy Blue Anchor throw pillow cover, $35 by RusticCountryCrafts on Etsy

3 Responses to “Give it a toss: Throw pillows for $50 or less”

  1. emilyjeane August 12, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I was just browsing around Pier 1 (and other sundry stores of the same like) and was unable to make myself drop the dough on throw pillows! However, I think I’m gonna bit the bullet and just go for it anyhoo. I like some of these! Too bad they wouldn’t fit my “look.” Maybe I should redecorate? 😉

    • design sensibility August 12, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      I would definitely check out Etsy or Pottery Barn… You can search fabrics, colors, patterns etc and you can get that great handmade/not fake suede feel that’s hard to find at the big chain stores. 🙂

  2. tardparty August 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Esther dahling, you echo my sentiments exactly. It makes me crazy to spend more than $20 on a bleeping pillow!!!! Fortunately, I decorate in colors that are found predominantly in preschools and dorm rooms, so I can come across good stuff for cheap. And I love that you’ve sourced so many from Etsy!! From one who’s considering opening an Etsy shop, that makes me happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

