DIY Projects | For The Gourmet

28 Aug

I came across an excellent article on the Huffington Post about making kitchen ingredients and I thought I would share it for today’s DIY. To make a sweeping statement, I’d have to say that Americans really rely on pre-packaged food to the extent that making stuff from scratch doesn’t really even occur to most of us. I didn’t realize how easy it was to make aioli/bbq sauce/ketchup/mustard/sorbet until I worked places that made their own, so in the spirit of good health and kitchen experiments, let’s have a go at it! Here’s my favorite recipes from the article: Homemade Ricotta Cheese Homemade Hot Sauce Tasty Beef Jerky The German in me loves SauerkrautHomemade ketchup rocks. So does spicy ketchup.

So go try your culinary hand at one of these recipes and let me know how it works out for you! Bon Appetit!

2 Responses to “DIY Projects | For The Gourmet”

  1. emilyjeane August 29, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Holy Homemade hot sauce Batman! I’m gonna try it!

  2. Tess August 29, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Did you know I make my own cocktail sauce? Yep, I do. Did you know that it’s the only sauce I know how to make from scratch? Yep, it is. #GoodAmerican

Leave a Reply

