Inside and Out | Painted Brick Houses

13 Oct

I’ve been obsessively looking at property for sale and I’m seeing a lot of brick ranch homes, which I generally think are pretty boring and ugly for the most part. I eventually saw one with some structural promise, hardwood floors, a nice lot, old trees, and in a good neighborhood and got to thinking of ways to make it cute…

As far as I’m concerned, I believe that a nice coat of paint is always a good idea!  I like brick more than vinyl siding,  and painted brick acquires a sort of worn patina stucco thing that I’m liking. I especially like the contrasting colors and trim in most of these homes – very striking!

         Did you see the little painted brick ranch house in there? What did you think?

2 Responses to “Inside and Out | Painted Brick Houses”

  1. Alison October 13, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    We live in a late-1950s brick tract house. We have the hardwood floors, but no other interesting architectural details I’ve seen in older houses. Unless you count the little phone “cabinet” inset near the downstairs bathroom, which…well, it’s nice, but it ain’t no built-in bookcases or arched doorways.

    Anyway, I’d love to paint our house. We’re not averse to the idea, but will probably wait until we redo the kitchen and (maybe) add on to the back of the house to do so. I totally ❤ painted brick.

    • design sensibility October 14, 2011 at 3:04 am #

      You’re aliiiive! 🙂 Yeah, the housing market is like a mash-up of undesirable houses in a reasonable price range and cuter houses totally outside of any imaginable budget… which is why I’m starting to think of ways of making un-cute cute as opposed to finding already-cute. Ha. Let me know if you end up painting, I’d love to hear where you’re going with that! Also, let’s do drinks soon…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

