Design Sensibilities | Tree Branches as Decor

18 Nov

       (Here’s my first branch-decor attempt back in 2006.)

Bear with me now, folks, I’m going to make a case for the awesomeness of tree branches as decor…

I know, I know. Not the most exciting-sounding topic in the world, but I think you’d be surprised at how much a few branches can bring a rustic natural feel to your decor: They can look really architectural and minimalistic, or end up turning into a compelling and delightful art/holiday installation/hanging object display.

It all depends on what you do with your branches: You can paint them… or not… Wrap them in Christmas lights. Get all crazy and wrap a few twigs in twine, ribbon, or yarn for added textural interest, or spritz them with glue and toss glitter all around — outside, please!

Also, they’re pretty much gonna be free, don’t need to be watered, and won’t shed on your carpet. All of the above I consider to be compelling arguments, but maybe you need to see a few examples to really appreciate the awesomeness…                

I’m ready to embark on a project similar to the third one to the bottom, what do you think? Are you ready to head out to the woods yet?

3 Responses to “Design Sensibilities | Tree Branches as Decor”

  1. emilyjeane November 18, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I like these (and I liked your ’06 “Christmas Tree)! You need to post pics when you get your latest branch project up! I want to do something like this, but not sure sure where I’m gonna get the branches…..

  2. Tess November 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I love the stocking hanger branch!

  3. Jenna January 4, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    This reminds me of way back in ’98 (ha! sounds so long ago), on my first trip to Daneland, I noticed these small curly branches that nearly all my host families had suspended from their ceilings with minimal decoration on them, usually just a few really beautiful paper cuttings. I enquired about taking a branch home with me, as it’s not like anything I’ve ever seen, and found out it was a big customs no-no, but have always meant to find some similar type of branch to hang my Danish paper cuttings from :-). Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

