Beautify | The Clarisonic

6 Jan

For my new year/new stuff blogging segment I’ve decided to start reviewing beauty products and tools. Because I love them — I’d rather buy a new lipstick than a shirt any day. I have a fairly high-low (mostly low-ish) mix of products in my stash, but today, for the first beautify feature EVER, I’m going to talk about the highest end, flashiest beauty tool I own: The Clarisonic.

Bought with my Christmas money and a 30% off coupon at Ulta, I’ve had my little white Clarisonic Mia 2 for about three weeks now. It’s safe to say that I love it.

Let’s talk about what the Clarisonic actually is first (from the website):

Traditional methods of cleansing don’t get your skin as clean as you’d think. Fortunately, the lead inventor of Sonicare discovered a breakthrough in how we cleanse. Using Sonic Technology, Clarisonic’s patented micro-massage motion works within skin’s natural elasticity to gently remove the impurities traditional methods leave behind- leaving skin softer, smoother and more beautiful.

  • Cleanses 6x better than with your hands alone in just 60 seconds
  • Works with skin, not against it, to gently massage away impurities trapped within pores
  • Prepares skin for better absorption of creams, serums and moisturizers
  • Gentle enough to use 2x a day

So essentially, it’s a really expensive face-washing tool, you ask? Well, yes. But it’s really awesome at what it does.

I have super sensitive, acne-prone, combination/oil-prone/extra-dry skin (find that label on a skin line if you can). I’ve tried a million products and the ones that work for my acne turn me into a scaly red angry person (don’t even get me started on ProActive or Olay Pro-X), while the other gentler products make my skin break out in overtime.

Newsflash: You can use the gentlest facewash/oil/whatever with this sonic wonder and your face is going to be clean as a Nordic spring dancing to Bjork’s Oh So Quiet. It “rattles” the gunk outta your pores, but very gently.

After the first week or two (see next paragraph for cons) your skin will take on a softness and glow unlike anything you’ve seen since before you started drinking a lot in college. Hypothetically. And if you buy it from Clarisonic or Ulta or Sephora you can totally return it if you don’t like it, used and everything. I think Sephora and Ulta give you 60 days and Clarisonic gives you 90, something like that.

Here’s the one I wanted: But I got the Mia 2 because it has 2 speeds and a timed wash function, but only comes in white and baby pink. I probably could have done without all the fancy functions but I’d read several reviews from folks who wished they had more speeds.

By the way, it comes with a charger, a travel case, and a brush head. Replacement brush heads are about $25.

As far as cons: At $119 minimum, it’s expensive. Also, for the first week or two you’re using it, your face is going to give you everything it has got – in a bad way. Also, while you’re getting used to how much your skin needs to be scrubbed you’ll probably over-use it (because it’s fun) and dry your skin out a little. And they don’t make the Mia 2 in Poppy Red.

That’s all the bad things I can come up with after some real effort. After the initial investment shock I have to say I haven’t looked back. Nor have these various people (and this one). And they’re the kind of people who’ve tried all the fancy expensive stuff, so let them guinea pig schmarmy products and then lead us to the awesome stuff that’s worth the asking price. Is what I say. All the time. Ha.

I’m going to give this a 9 out of 10 rating, because it’s so expensive.

5 Responses to “Beautify | The Clarisonic”

  1. Alison January 6, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    I’m totally intrigued. That being said, I’m a lazy ass and I only wash my face once a day, during my morning shower. *gasp*

    I have Christmas cheddar to spend, however…

  2. Alison January 6, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    OK, the reviews on the Clarisonic site and Sephora have me just about convinced.

  3. Alison January 6, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    (Not that you didn’t have me convinced! Really!)

    • design sensibility January 7, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      You’re funny, Ali… 🙂 Read those Into The Gloss interviews too…

      • Alison January 7, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

        I did!

Leave a Reply

