Obsession | All About Poppy.

10 Jan

As I’ve stated before, my favorite color is grey. I told this to a shop attendant in Little India about a month ago and she admonished me for being boring, but what she failed to understand was that grey is the perfect accompanying color for any and all of my color obsessions: Soothing ocean colors, “fifties green,” chartreuse, coral… But right now, I’m all about warm, the orangey-red goodness of Poppy. It started with Pushing Daisies, and then the orangey-red lipstick the ladies all wear in Mad Men. Then, this summer’s ultimate makeup trend was all about that lipstick: It was in every fashion magazine, on every perfect pout, and of course then the Kardashians tried to claim it and that’s how we know this trend is officially major. Ha.

And then JCrew has this iconic shade they blend on-set for their models on set and somebody, namely Poppy King (best name ever) decided to do something about it. So she created a very particular shade of papaya that I’ma have to have. When it’s not sold out any more. 

Poppy Madness has been going on for months… But I ultimately blame Jenna Lyons and the darn JCrew Christmas catalogue for accelerating my obsession to its current state. Jenna Lyons is the woman behind the past few years’ resurgence of JCrew. (We should also take a moment to recognize Michelle Obama…) As the creative director, she’s the style setter, the trend forecaster, the genius of aesthetic. She loves stripes, so those cute stripes we’ve all been wearing for the past few years…? Jenna Lyons. The daytime sequins trend? Jenna Lyons. The nudes, socks with heels, rolled up pant cuffs, and brunette ombre hair? Jenna Lyons. (You may also know her as the woman who painted her son’s toenails pink.) She’s the girl crush of the fashion world right now. And the Christmas catalogue was so full of cheery, fun color combinations (and POPPY!) that I couldn’t put it down…As far as it translating into home decor, I think if you’ve got a neutral color scheme you can always use a few pops of color…  Or maybe just go all out in one room… So what do you think? Do you love this shade as much as I do? Would you wear it on your face, body, or put it in your home? I think it’s just so cheerful it’s gotta happen.

5 Responses to “Obsession | All About Poppy.”

  1. bnmerry January 10, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    Where is that lipstick sold?

    • design sensibility January 10, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      It’s currently sold out at JCrew stores, but they’re supposedly re-stocking soon… So keep an eyeball peeled!

  2. Misti January 10, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Poppy’s lipsticks are lovely. And yeah, I pretty much love poppy the color as well. Anything in that coral-y/orange range is Aces; goes well with MY favorite color, teal/mint green!

  3. emilyjeane January 10, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    I do like that lavender room and the last one of the series too! I’m not sure I could pull off the lipstick.

  4. tardparty January 10, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    So all those fashion trends you listed? I was totally oblivious. LOL

    And yes, I’d rock the poppy. Not so much on my face, but anywhere else I can plaster it.

Leave a Reply

