Life | I Quit Sugar Update

11 Jan

I thought I’d check in for Week 2 of Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar Experiment…

Week 1’s goal was to  start cutting back (although I just went off it entirely, cold turkey, which was a good jumpstart for me). I stopped drinking coffee and any combination thereof to help wean myself off *Starbucks, and stayed away from sauces, processed foods, high glycemic index veggies, fruit, and of course chocolate.

*My standard fall Starbucks drink is a Grande Pumpkin Spice Latte, which has approx. 16 teaspoons of sugar in it!!! *GASP*

Week 2 is referred to as “Operation Eat Fat,” and I ate almost an entire block of havarti with dill yesterday. So I’d call that a success. ha. Not as successful was my carving into a delicious grapefruit. Which tasted amazing. But, as far as sweet fruit go, is pretty low on the list so I’m not going to beat myself up about it. Just hopping back on the wagon like it never happened.

So this week I’m supposed to eat 5-6 times a day, small meals with fat and protein. Dairy, meat, nuts and seeds, olive and coconut oil… I bought some Flax, Oat Bran and Whole Wheat Pita Bread to eat sandwiches on, and have been drinking mint tea/tea lattes like they’re going out of style. I’m going to have a salad for lunch with Annie’s Lemon and Chive gluten, dairy, vinegar and sugar-free dressing, and try to just keep getting closer to not thinking about sugar all the time.

I lost a few pounds after the first week but it may all be back due to the amount of cheese I consumed yesterday. Ha. But I’ll keep on keeping on — only 6.5 weeks to go!

Next week is the official Quit Week, which means for real y’all, and while it won’t be as drastic since I’m pretty much doing it already, the biggie is going to be avoiding carbs as much as possible…

‘Till then, I’ll be enjoying the fresh pasta sauce I rustled up the other day with roasted tomatoes, garlic, onions, fresh thyme, and truffle oil. Bet it would make an amazing eggplant parmesan sauce…

One Response to “Life | I Quit Sugar Update”

  1. bnmerry January 11, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    I tried quitting sugar all at once on my own a few years ago. After 2 days I broke and ate an entire bag of cookies. I was not so successful. It sounds like you’re doing great.

Leave a Reply

