I Quit Sugar | Week 3

17 Jan

Rolling into week three here and feeling pretty good still, except, man! Sometimes you just want a little something sweet! We had Indian food for lunch the other day and I happily traipsed all the way back up to the buffet to get some of those awesome sugar syrup donuts before I realized what I was doing… So I stopped myself but I can’t help but think they would have really hit the spot!

Week 3 is No Sugar Whatsoever i.e. sauces, drinks, juice, fruit etc. We’ve been off those since Week 1 except for a few slip-ups, so this is a pretty seamless transition. I’ve been following Sarah Wilson’s advice to “stuff yourself with spinach and you won’t get around to eating chocolate.” I bought a giant bag of Kale, which we’ve had four times this week and are only about half way through. Also eating tons of eggs.

(Kale with Tahini, Red Beans and Rice, Soft-Boiled Egg; Kale and Shrimp Risotto; Sriracha Kale with Poached Egg and Leftover Risotto.)

If that’s the worst of it, though, it’s going easily. I started back on coffee this week and now drinking it with just cream isn’t nasty to me, so that’s a WIN. As a treat I am allowing myself two lattes a week with cinnamon. Wow. But I’ve definitely been losing weight and feeling good.

Here’s the recipe I got from a gal at work for Tahini Kale, which is super tasty!!!

Tahini Kale Recipe

Ingredients:

Kale – about 1 lb

Tahini – about 2 TBSP

Red Pepper Flakes (or Sriracha sauce) – to taste

Garlic – 3 cloves

Olive Oil – 2 Tbsp

Lemon – wedge/to taste

Salt and pepper – to taste

Optional: Chia seeds, sesame seeds…

Saute the garlic in olive oil on medium heat for about three minutes. Add red pepper flakes at the end. Toss in your kale and cover, steaming for about 3 minutes more. Remove lid and add tahini and salt and pepper. Stir to coat. (You may need to add a little water at this point if your tahini is really thick.) Once tahini is distributed, remove from heat and douse with lemon, and add chia/sesame seeds if desired. Enjoy immediately.

 

One Response to “I Quit Sugar | Week 3”

  1. emilyjeane January 17, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    I’m gonna try that tahini kale recipe! I’ve broken down a few times when I wasn’t thinking about it, but so far I feel pretty good about progress. I think my worst transgression is eating pre-packaged food. So, I’ve had to make sure to cook enough food to bring to work so I don’t starve and end up at the store!

Leave a Reply

