Life | New Year’s Resolutions

20 Jan

As you can see, my resolutions didn’t include deciding on resolutions before I was darn well ready to. Ha. But it’s still January, and I still want to write about them so that I can look back next year and see how I’ve done. I kept journals like a maniac as a kid but now I really just blog…

RESOLUTION #1To be more mindful of what I put in and on my body. 

The past few months have involved various intentional eating pattern adjustments like going gluten-free for a month and now doing this I Quit Sugar program. While accompanying weight-loss is a goal for most honest folk, myself and my husband included, for us these eating adjustments are more directly focused on overall health and being better consumers. Documentaries like Forks Over Knives, Supersize Me, Food Inc, and Fast Food Nation have really served to inform and generally shock me into caring about what I put in my body: It’s just plain unhealthy what we’re actually eating these days. 

(This awesome chick is Iris Apfel, who seems to be the funnest, craziest old woman and I want to age just like her – having fun and being colorful.)

The flip side of the coin is what I put on my body, and trying to look and feel my best. I’m going to use skin products that are amazing, wear quality makeup that doesn’t spark allergic reactions, and buy lovely clothes that I can hang onto for a few years, now that I’m pretty sure a punk phase won’t roll around again. (But if it does, I’ll be ready for it with some bright lipstick!) Because in the end, shopping for quantity over quality causes me to end up consuming/spending more and never really loving any of it or feeling good about myself and the way I look.

 

RESOLUTION #2: To try to live more in the moment rather than being overly cautious. 

(Yes, this includes taking a pause from the incessant Facebooking. It’s great catching up with everybody, but ten times a day every day is just too much reading, not enough doing.)

I want to do exciting things, travel, take chances, go out on a limb… The past several years of my life have been a series of very measured attempts, many of which have been linearly unsuccessful (aka have ended), but have also been honest attempts at finding happiness. So I can’t discount them, and wonderful things have happened along the way.

This year I want to be a little less calculating and be a little more open to trying things that might not make all the sense in the world. Call it “following my heart, not just my head” if you will. I feel strongly that this is going to be a big year for me and as I start feeling older I want to remember and look forward to new adventures, rather than focusing on the few years of my life when I was a little cra-cra.

 

RESOLUTION #3: I am going to Paris. It is more than a little upsetting to say that I have never been to Paris. But there you go. I’ve been all over Europe and America, Japan, England and Ireland, and even Russia for the love of Pete, but never to Paris! Well, this year I’m going. I’m going to eat macarons and baguettes with cheese and butter and drink cafe cremes and buy flowers and stroll L’Avenue des Champs Elysées and buy facial creams in pharmacies and take Le Metro and Le Glare at everyone in a very French way. All the while dressed like Audrey Hepburn and taking photographs of everything. Mark my words.

So what are you committed to doing differently this year? I think sharing your resolutions with others can help keep you accountable, so feel free to post yours in the comments so we can all look back together!

One Response to “Life | New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. emilyjeane January 20, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    I like your commitments! Very cool! I’m doing themes this year… This is officially the Year of Running for me. With that goes the fact that I’m really committing to a vegetarian diet for the year (been toying with it for forever) and looking to move elsewhere (or get a HUGE raise, which is less likely) in a year.

    Wanna run the USMC Marathon with me? Anyone??

Leave a Reply

