Beautify | NARS

24 Jan

I read about beauty products A LOT. And sooner or later, when the pros are discussing their beauty staples, NARS always comes up. In fact, this lady actually said “I worship the God of NARS.” If that’s not an awesome recommendation, I don’t know what is, and there are a certain few products that apparently everybody who’s anybody who knows anything about makeup has, namely, the following two items:

(1). The Dragon Girl Velvet Matte Lip Pencil, $24, and… (2). Orgasm Blush, $27. This particular shade was named “Top 25 Beauty Hall of Fame” 2010 Elle; “Best Blush for Light Skin” 2010 & 2011 InStyle “Best Beauty Buys”; “Best Blush for Fair Skin” 2011 InStyle “Best Beauty Buys.”

They will both most assuredly join my beauty collection one day, but I currently have a sufficient supply of red lips and pale pink cheeks, so I wanted to branch a little farther with my intro to NARS products.

So for Christmas, I asked for and received the incredibly brashly-named “Super Orgasm” gift set, $39, complete with blush, lip gloss, and nail polish, all in a gold-shimmer pleasantly peachy shade. Which is loverly. The blush goes on sheerly and smoothly, with a smidge of a flashy-but-not-flashy golden glimmer. The shade is very flattering and subtle. I love the color and intensity of the lip gloss, but the consistency is a little gooey/tacky, and frankly smells weird. The nail polish is a perfect shade darker than my skin color and the flecks of gold are just fabulous. Love love love the color. But it chipped like crazy, despite a heavy topcoat. I’d still buy it, though, because the color is so great. My second foray into NARS awesomeness is the Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil in Happy Days, $24. It is FANTASTIC. I was looking for a peachy but not-too-sheer, not-too-solid lip color, preferably in stick form, that wasn’t too cakey or greasy. Man… this one is just perfection. I tried a few Yves St. Laurent colors (I will definitely be going back to that brand, the pigment and textures are divine) but they didn’t quite have what I wanted and at their asking price of $34 the shade had better be perfect. And then I tried this one and 30 seconds later I was in line… It’s buttery but not greasy, highly pigmented but still a little sheer, not too glossy or tacky, and doesn’t smell awful!

Another good thing to know about their brand is that they do not test on animals, have replaced the majority of animal derived ingredients with plant-derived ingredients, and are gluten free. They do use parabens “to prevent bacterial and fungal contamination.” Meh.

My overall NARS rating is an 8 out of 10 because of their range of colors and pigments, purtiness of shading, care of ingredients, and frankly, they get a couple points just for being so highly rated and regarded. I am deducting a point because of the tackiness of that lipgloss and the fact that even $6 L’Oreal lipsticks manage to have a classy rose scent, and another point for the embarrassment of having to tell people the name of the shade I’m wearing. I’m all for being a modern, sassy woman, but I don’t feel the need to get all Eve Ensler about my cosmetics.

One Response to “Beautify | NARS”

  1. tardparty January 24, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Even *I* own the NARS Orgasm blush. That’s saying something.

Leave a Reply

