Week 4 | Sugar Crash

26 Jan

Halfway through Week 4 of Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar program and I’m really starting to crave the delicious nectar.

I’ve been pretty cool and collected about the whole detox up until this week. In three days I have pulled myself back from the precipice numerous times – I even broke down and drank a diet Dr. Pepper yesterday. I can’t stand the taste of aspartame but I really didn’t think I could hold it together without something sweet. (Fake sugar tricks your body into thinking it’s real sugar, so it’s pretty much the same plus chemicals. Although technically it’s not cheating.)

I’ve been alternating stress dreams and boulangerie dreams as well. As long as I don’t wake up chewing on my pillow, I guess… 

But today is a new day and I am resolute in kicking my tasty habit. Anybody have any ideas for a “sweet” treat to nurse the cravings? So far I have tried and rated the following:

1. Cacao Nibs – Terrible. Absolutely awful. They taste like I imagine stag poop might.

2. Plain Greek Yogurt – Totally not a “sweet treat,” what are these people talking about? Guh!

3. Coconut Water – Not bad.

4. Peanut Butter – On crackers and celery, which I think is kind of gross but the crunch is pretty satisfying.

5. Mint Tea Lattes – Heat milk and steep teabag for a tasty, creamy treat that almost hits the spot. ha. This is my favorite so far.

Side note: Charlie, husband and co-detoxer, is doing better than I am at this point. I attribute this mostly to his impressive stubbornness and the fact that he’s seeing results. We have both lost some weight and are noticing improvements in digestion, but as far as I am aware, he hasn’t wavered. So I’m not about to let him win. 🙂 

I’ll be soldiering on now.

One Response to “Week 4 | Sugar Crash”

  1. emilyjeane January 26, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Charlie probably doesn’t have the same sweet tooth either. I know it’s not been that hard for me (although I haven’t been completely hard core about it). Greek yogurt is only sweet when you add honey or jam! What about sweet potatoes? Are those allowed?

Leave a Reply

