Beautify | Cold Weather Creams

9 Feb

Since it looks like we’re actually going to see some wintery weather this year I thought I’d do a Beautify special on hand and cold weather creams…

My skin gets really dry and patchy in the winter, but I hate having that sweaty, greasy hand lotion hands/feet/face residue feel… I’m willing to sacrifice a little oiliness in return for less chemicals though, and sometimes you need the big guns.

Here’s the (natural) products I go to when I need a heavy dose of moisturizer.

Weleda Skin Food, $14.40. This delightful product is available at Target and Whole Foods everywhere and is one of the best natural lotions that I’ve tried. It’s thick, man, and smells like the sweet orange oil it contains (along with calendula, chamomile, pansy, lavender and rosemary). Heaven.

It’s a little greasy as you’re rubbing it in (oils) but in my experience those absorb quickly and leave even the chapped-est hands feeling soft and smelling DEvine. It works great on feet, and a friend tells me it’s also great for diaper rash.

It does contain peanut oil for those allergic folks, but contains all-natural ingredients and does not have parabens or sulfites or any of those bad words. A tube will last you for forever…

Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream, $16.

I have a natural happy place for Japanese everything and this lotion is no exception. It smells a little camphor-y, but that fades fairly quickly and isn’t totally unpleasant.

This particular moisturizer “has a uniquely high glycerin content and absorbability achieved through a special manufacturing process” – it absorbs quickly while replenishing lost moisture, and heals and minimizes chapping, scabbing, and scarring. It’s also formulated without sulfates, synthetic fragrances and dyes, petro-chemicals (petroleum) or phthalates (plasticizers). Whew.

I’ve been using it on my chapped, chapped nose for a few days and it’s accelerating the healing like crazy.

Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Creme, $9. I’m not gonna lie, this one smells kind of like a delicious almond-y eraser but it is so thick you have to really scoop it out of the jar and work it into those chapped hands… If you do this at night your skin will be like a baby’s cheek in the morning.

My face is very sensitive and something in this irritates it (maybe the acidic grapefruit…?), but for hands and elbows this is really great. Burt’s Bees tends to have more ingredients than I think is super ideal, but in the case of this a few other products I make an exception.

No parabens or petroleum-based ingredients.

Archipelago Soy Milk Hand Creme, $18. This stuff is amazing.

My friends and I discovered it in a tiny Savannah boutique a few years back and I’ve purchased two more tubes since then. It smells milky (but not powdery, yuck) and amazing, and really packs a punch as far as moisturizing goes. A little lighter than the previous lotions, it’s perfect for an all-day hand cream.

According to the website,  soy milk “…is the perfect moisturizer additive: The proteins, amino acids and lipids in this high-powered bean allow for rapid hydration and skin regeneration.”

Overall, it’s a great product and the scent is to die for.

And, lastly…

Herbacin Kamille, $6. I bought a tin of this on my last trip to Germany and its light chamomile scent is pleasant and relaxing.

Herbacin is a German, chamomile-based line of moisturizers… This formula is pretty thick and takes a while to soak in, but you know you’re getting all-night attention that way, I guess… It doesn’t leave a greasy residue, it just stops up your pores, sealing the moisture in.

No parabens, animal ingredients or mineral oils.





Leave a Reply

