Obsessions | Queen Elizabeth II

10 Feb

Doesn’t she just look really pleasant and fun?! The impetus for my obsession here is a little cyclical… After seeing Meryl Streep as Margaret Thatcher in Iron Lady, a really remarkable film about the first and only female prime minister of the UK, I started thinking about how amazing it is that Queen Elizabeth is so powerful in the midst of all those men in government… and then I got a little obsessed. 

She just seems so lovely and gracious…! It seems like they made such a big deal about Kate needing to cover her arms for the wedding last year and here’s Elizabeth 50 years or more before looking all fabulous and bare-armed… I also didn’t know that she became queen at 25… Around a time that women weren’t taken seriously much at all. Wow.

Women like these are the ones I’m interested in being inspired and influenced by, not the Kardashians, the Hiltons, or the Lohans.

Here’s her wikiograpy

 

2 Responses to “Obsessions | Queen Elizabeth II”

  1. Michael Wirk February 12, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I was lucky to find you post about Queen Elizabeth II and I enjoyed your selection of pictures.

    I hope you don’t mind that I inserted the picture of the young and smiling Elizabeth into my blog: http://www.monte-wirk.info/ . It’s a blog for my students of English as a foreign language.

    • design sensibility February 12, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      That’s lovely! I love the photos of her youth… what a great lady!

Leave a Reply

