An Indefinite Farewell

21 Mar

I haven’t peeped a peep since I went on vacation in February because I’ve been racking my brain about what to do with this blog creation of mine. The fact of the matter is that, for now, I have “cleared out” my mental space and I need to take pause to consider my new design scheme.

I’ve kept journals ever since I can remember. They’ve covered every slight obsession of mine from the New Kids on the Block and teenage angst through my bad poetry and creative writing years. I journaled in the margins of my “green monster” at boot camp (which I unceremoniously dumped in the garbage, along with my stomped-upon BCG a.k.a. Birth Control Glasses I was required to wear in boot camp). I’ve kept notebooks on and off through my adult years to chronicle times of change and growth… and then I discovered blogging.

My first blog came about a few years ago when I spent a summer making pies, and then I blogged my wedding planning experience so that friends and family who couldn’t be there with me during the whole process could at least be included in some way. When I started Design Sensibility last year, we had just gotten married and moved back to Kentucky and I was aching for a creative project to sink my teeth into. It gave me an outlet where I could corral all of my little design obsessions and projects and to actively create rather than just be at home by myself during the day and behind a bar at night.

Blogging takes time, though; a few hours a day looking for inspiration, finding it, then finding images and words to accurately express whatever creative vision has transpired. These days I find myself spending those hours researching our upcoming trip to Paris, looking for a new house to call home, educating myself extensively about skin and hair and makeup trends, and following whatever threads pop up along the way…

As the saying goes, “All good things must come to an end.” While I’m not 100% sure about all of that, I do know that life is taking me elsewhere right now and I feel guilty leaving the blog “on vacation” for so long. So let’s call this “an indefinite farewell,” to which I will either return, renewed, invigorated, and newly inspired… or not.

Either way, it’s time to close the chapter.

And in the meanwhile, if you like, you can follow me on Pinterest, because I still love design, beauty, fashion and fabulousness.

A bientot, mes amis.

2 Responses to “An Indefinite Farewell”

  1. eryn March 21, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    you’re remarkable, esther. good fortune, good laughs, and good love to you. xo

    • design sensibility March 21, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      thank you, and a big ditto on all of that to you, lady! hope all is well…

Leave a Reply

